Farewell

For a little over nine years I’ve been Assistant Director of Adventist Chaplaincy Ministries for the North American Division; that ends today. Apart from my twenty years in the Army Reserve and National Guard (two ten-year periods with a gap), this was the longest job I’ve had (a few months more than I was with the Archdiocese of Galveston Houston).

I’ll always be grateful for the friendship, support, and prayers of the chaplains I worked with in my region, as well as those in the Army and campus ministry. We’ve accomplished some wonderful things together in these years.

I’m still going to be a chaplain, but serving now as a clinical chaplain at the Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center in Houston, where I can do more ministry and not have to worry about ecclesiastical bureaucracies. I received my Board Certification in early July through the National Association of VA Chaplains. And now my ministry focus will be on the community of veterans in Houston. This is my “tribe.”

Let my final words be those of St. Paul to the Philippians:

Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Keep on doing what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me. Then the God of peace will be with you

Keep your hearts and minds fixed on Jesus. Turn to him. Trust in him.

Chaplains, continue to do your work. Love your patients, your soldiers, your students. If you are not treated as the professionals you are, called by God for this ministry, go where you will be honored and respected. God isn’t bound by denominational walls and sectarian attitudes. He is so much bigger. If you are in a church that won’t affirm your gifts, and legalisms speak louder than grace, go where you see and hear Jesus. Shake the dust off your feet and continue with the mission Christ has given you.

May God bless you all, now and forever.

See also This I Believe. For observations on issues in the Adventist church, see Ted Wilson’s Sixteen Points.