New Martin Luther Film

PBS recently showed the new documentary, “Martin Luther: The Idea that Changed the World.” I watched it online, as you can here (until September 27). I was skeptical, but was quickly impressed. This is very thorough, exploring the most important aspects of Luther’s theology, giving real insight into his person, through the shared perspectives of solid and well known talking heads representing all branches of Lutheranism. I personally loved the contributions of James Nestigen (as I always have). He makes theology fun. This is a wonderful documentary that takes theology seriously.

Two versions were produced; the version on PBS, for the general audience, and “A Return to Grace: The Life and Legacy of Martin Luther,”  another editing of the film which assumes knowledge of Lutheran theological vocabulary, and is being promoted by Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod.  I look forward to seeing it.