Reading the Qur’an

Blogger John E. Riütta writes, Why I’m Reading the Qur’an. He says some people were shocked when he mentioned it.

The answer seemed pretty obvious to him, as it does to me. You can click on the link to read how he phrased it.

I first started reading the Qur’an in college, when I had a Muslim roommate. I had an English translation of the Qur’an, and I got him an Arabic translation of the Bible. Our readings led to many wonderful conversations.

I was reading it again this past year, preparing for and then living in Kuwait. How could I hope to understand the Middle East if I didn’t read the Qur’an? Sadly, many of the people making decisions about the Middle East have not read it, and would not read it. I could tell some stories that shocked me … but I won’t. Not here.

George Patton read the Qur’an prior to his arrival in North Africa. It seemed an obvious starting point to him. To his wife he said, “Just finished reading the Koran—a good book and interesting.” His son reported a different reaction. “It may be of interest,” he said, “that on the way to North Africa in 1942, my dad read the Koran from cover to cover. He said that it bored the h*** out of him, but he really felt he had to do it so that he could understand the Moroccan way of living. I thought that was pretty farsighted. We should do more of that today.”