Digital Books

I must confess that I prefer real books. I like their feel and their smell and the history of old books. I like being able to make notes in them. But I have a problem–I don’t have room for all my books in my house. My bedroom is lined with bookcases. I have bookcases in the living room. There are bookcases in each of my kids rooms. And I have about 40 boxes of books in the garage.

And I want more.

And so I have begun to get more digital books.

A couple years ago I got the Ellen G. White Writings Comprehensive Research Edition CD, which has not only her published and unpublished writings (not yet her letters and diaries), but also a huge collection of early Adventist writings and historical sources. All for $19.99–thanks to a generous subsidy.

This week I got Luther’s Works–the 55 volume American Edition jointly published by Augsburg Fortress and Concordia. (At about $34 per volume, the whole set would cost nearly $2000). It uses the Libronix software, which I now officially hate. It took forever to install, it takes a long time to load, it takes time to search.

I’m grateful for online resources, like the Christian Classics Ethereal Library, which I’ve used for many years.

I see TDNT is on CD–but I got the full set for about as much as the CD ($199). The great advantage of digital books is the search capability, of course.

I will continue to cherish my hard copy books, books like Johann Arndt’s Sechs Bücher vom wahren Christentum, a hefty leather-bound tome with leather straps and buckles published in the early 1830s, with beautiful engravings throughout–no digital volume could ever replace this.