Re-Up

I’ve been thinking about it a long time. At one point I had decided that it wasn’t likely. Resigned myself to some good memories. But then a friend’s commissioning got me to reflecting some more, as did some conversations with some folks from Adventist Chaplaincy Ministries. And a visit to Killeen finalized my determination. I’ve applied to reenter the Army National Guard as a chaplain.

As followers of this blog know, I’ve wrestled with a lot of things, including the experience of CH (CPT) James Yee. They had told us in chaplain school that we took a risk entering this ministry, that we must at times cut against the grain, and that faithfully following our call could get us into trouble–but we must do it, they said.

I’ve come to the conclusion that for me, it isn’t about the policies or practicies of a particular administration, it is about the soldiers. I’ve been committed to young adult ministry, and here’s the largest concentration of young adults in the country, with the lowest degree of church attendance. And at this time the military is having a very hard time recruiting chaplains.

So, I’ve done it. I’ve submitted the Army’s paperwork, will have the physical this weekend, and have started the endorsement process. And I’ve started to cut down on food and get into a PT regimen. So, we’ll see where it goes from here. Hooah.

7 thoughts on “Re-Up

  1. Wow- So if it all worked out, exactly how would it work – would you be full time, part time, what?

    • Part-time. The usual one weekend a month, two weeks in the summer Until, of course, whatever unit I’m assigned to is invited to take a long trip to a hot and sandy place.

Comments are closed.