Swift Justice

It’s rare that a rogue cop gets disciplined these days, but the cop who kept Ryan Moats from the bedside of his dying mother-in-law acted so stupidly that the Dallas chief of police acted swiftly to discipline him.

“I am embarrassed and disappointed by (Powell’s) behavior,” Kunkle said. “His behavior, in my opinion, did not exhibit the common sense, the discretion, the compassion that we expect our officers to exhibit.

“… At the point the officer was told that they were responding to a dying family member, that should have been his concern.”…

Kunkle said Moats exhibited “extraordinary restraint in dealing with the behavior of our officer.”

Update: Officer Robert Powell has apologized for his behavior:

“I wish to publicly and sincerely apologize to the Moats family, my colleagues in the Dallas Police Department, and to all those who have been rightfully angered by my actions on March 18, 2009. After stopping Mr. Moats’ vehicle, I showed poor judgment and insensitivity to Mr. Moats and his family by my words and actions,” Powell’s statement reads. …

“Again, I am very sorry for what I did and ask for the forgiveness of all those touched by these unfortunate events,” Powell said.