Birmingham Jail

When folks in Birmingham arrested someone for exercising his first amendment rights 40 years ago, that man, Martin Luther King, Jr., wrote a famous “Letter from Birmingham Jail” defending the civil rights movement.

Birmingham has now arrested some college students, and folks are drawing comparisons. Their press release says they were on a public sidewalk; this article claims they were on school property. They had video cameras, so it should be easy to determine who is telling the truth.

One thought on “Birmingham Jail

  1. I stumbled upon your blog today and am struck by your story? or maybe just the similarities between the things that make up your life and my own. I am a Catholic campus minister at a University in south Louisiana, a cajun and I have a degree from the JPII Institute in theological studies on marriage and the family (otherwise known as the place where they teach the Theology of the Body). Also, my husband is a musician- as it seems your son is. I would love to hear more about your experience in campus ministry and your discovery of your cultural roots. I’ve tried to find another way on your site to contact you but I can’t seem to get to it.

Comments are closed.