After Ten Years

Time flies when you’re having fun. Ten years ago it was 1999, and I was leading a small group that was thinking of what we would do as the first big event for young adults for the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston. We took a bit from “Holy Grounds” and a bit from “Theology on Tap” and came up with our own event which we called “Cafe Catholica.” It started in June 1999 (photos) and hasn’t stopped, thanks to the creative young adults who were part of the team (a team that was always bringing in new members and dismissing older ones in peace).

Full list of topics here. I coordinated the series up to 2006; 2007 was done by young adults I had put in place before I left; 2008 marked the transition to the new director. Gee, I wonder if they will invite me back to speak for the 10th anniversary series this summer?😉