Healthiest and Unhealthiest Cities

Interesting … here’s how some places I’ve lived rank:

9. Barre, VT Micropolitan Statistical Area

17. Worcester, MA Metropolitan Statistical Area

30. Bethesda-Gaithersburg-Frederick, MD Metropolitan Division (the closest I can find to Gettysburg, PA)

46. New Haven-Milford, CT Metropolitan Statistical Area

64. Indianapolis-Carmel, IN Metropolitan Statistical Area (the closest I can find to Terre Haute)

123. Chicago-Naperville-Joliet, IL-IN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area (the closest I can find to Rockford)

127. Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario, CA Metropolitan Statistical Area

149. Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area

It’s a strange assortment of towns. Nothing on the list is close to Santa Barbara, CA, Watertown, NY, or central PA.

5 thoughts on “Healthiest and Unhealthiest Cities

  1. Think Houston is bad? You ain’t got nothing on the Valley:

    180. Brownsville (5th to last)
    182. McAllen (3rd to last)
    183. Laredo (2nd to last)

    At least I’m now in the 67th ranked city…

  2. Wow! I never would have guessed that Barre, VT would be there. That city leaves a lot to be desired. I guess, however, it probably includes Montpelier, which is a lot more palatable than its twin-city.

  3. Another webpage says the area includes Washington County. It’s the closest I could get to Northfield, the little village 12 miles south where we lived.

Comments are closed.