The Presidential Candidates and Religion

The candidates have been polled by AP. They were simple questions of fact: “what their religion is, whether there is a particular church that they are a member of, and how often they attend services.” All but one answered the questions.

“Three Cheers for Dear Old Broadview …”

After 98 years, Broadview Academy has closed. Its alma mater will be learned by no more alumni. It had 78 students this year, 58 students last year. The webpage already has an epitaph look (1909-2007), having graduated its last class. I attended my junior year, 1977-1978. Its last principal, Randy Siebold, was a senior that…

It’s Miller Time in Vancouver

Archbishop J. Michael Miller, CSB, currently secretary for the Congregation for Catholic Education in the Vatican, has been appointed coadjutor archbishop of Vancouver. I’ve known him for nine years, since I came to Houston. At that time he was president of the University of St. Thomas. When in Rome two years ago, I stopped in…

Titus Andronicus

Peggy Noonan says the party is over; Bush has done all he could to alienate and destroy his political base, and has succeeded. What I came in time to believe is that the great shortcoming of this White House, the great thing it is missing, is simple wisdom. Just wisdom–a sense that they did not…

June 1

I began blogging five years ago; one of my first posts lamented that my son had turned 13, and that I was now the father of a teenager. Well, five years later, today is his 18th birthday. I can’t believe it. It’s also the start of hurricane season. Advice from the experts–if you aren’t in…

“Remember Me”

Remember Me–a video of a soldier’s perspective. This was sent by my nephew, SPC Joshua Arnold, 3-158 Aviation Battalion (Air Assault). He’s got a new job as a door gunner on a Blackhawk helicopter. He was in communications in Afghanistan; now he’s on his way to Iraq. Remember him, and all the others.